## March 19, 2016 REORGANIZATIONAL COMMON COUNCIL MEETING

5:30PM Washburn City Hall

Present: City Council Members: Linda S. Barnes, Kristy M. Jensch, Robert Arquette, Mary C

Nowakowski, Jeremy P. Oswald

Municipal Personnel: Mayor Scott A. Griffiths, City Administrator Scott J. Kluver, Assistant

City Administrator Dan Stoltman

Excused Absence: Jennifer Maziasz, Mary McGrath

**Call to Order** - Meeting called to order at 5:30PM by Mayor Griffiths. Roll call attendance depicted five (5) of seven (7) members of the Common Council in attendance. Quorum of the Council recognized.

Mayoral Announcements, Proclamations, Appointments- Notification of opportunity to attend new officials workshop sponsored by League of Wisconsin Municipalities. Committee vacancies: Plan Commission, Harbor Commission, Historic Preservation Committee, and Bay Area Transit Board member.

**Election of Council President** – Current Council President Oswald stated that he would prefer not to continue as Council President. The Council choose not to exercise the privilege of closed ballot as permissible by Statute in the election of Council President. A motion was made by Oswald to nominate Mary Nowakowski for Council President, second by Arquette. The nomination for Nowakowski carried unanimously.

Election of Plan Commission Member (2/3 Vote Required) – Current Council Plan Commission member Oswald stated that he is happy to continue to be on Plan Commission unless someone else wants to be. A motion was made by Nowakowski to nominate Jeremy Oswald for Plan Commission, second by Barnes. Motion carried unanimously.

**Discussion and Action on Future/Mission of West End Park and Development Exploratory Ad-Hoc Committees** – A discussion was had on the whether the Future/Mission of West End Park and Development Exploratory Ad-Hoc Committees were still needed. <u>A motion was made by Jensch to disband the Future/Mission of West End Park and Development Exploratory Ad-Hoc Committees, second by Nowakowski. Motion carried unanimously.</u>

Confirmation of Council Member Appointments to Boards, Commissions – the following Council Liaison appointments and Citizen Appointments were addressed and unanimously confirmed on motion of Nowakowski, seconded by Jensch, and unanimously carried: Finance/Personnel Committee Mary McGrath, Jennifer Maziasz and Mary Nowakowski. Historical Preservation Commission Liaison – Kristy Jensch; Library Board Liaison – Linda Barnes; Harbor Commission Liaison – Mary Nowakowski, Washburn Development Authority (WDA) Liaison – Robert Arquette, Plan Commission – Jeremy Oswald, BART – Mayor Griffiths (until someone else can be found). Confirmation of Citizen Appointments to Boards, Commissions, Committees - Plan Commission – Leo Ketchum-Fish, Karen L. Bennett Harbor Commission – Martin Katzmarek, (one vacant) Historical Preservation Commission – Dora Kling, (one vacant) WDA – Rick Geisen, John Wheeler. Zoning Board of Appeals – Thomas Gaber. Wisconsin Lake Superior Byway- Mary Nowakowski, Dora King. Election Board- Caroline Nelson, Linda Ovaska, Tonia Al-Bahrani.

**Designation of Public Depositories -** Designation of the three community institutions, Bremer Bank, Chippewa Valley, and Northern State Bank (branch office-Washburn IGA) moved by Oswald, seconded by Barnes. Motion unanimously carried.

**Designation of Official Newspaper** – The Ashland Daily Press is designated as the official newspaper on motion of Nowakowski, seconded by Oswald, and unanimously carried.

Adjourn – Motion to adjourn at 5:50pm by Barnes, seconded by Arquette. Motion carried unanimously.