April 19, 2022 CITY OF WASHBURN RE-ORGANIZATIONAL

COMMON COUNCIL MEETING

5:30PM Washburn City Hall & Remote Video Conferencing

City Council Members:

Present, in-person: Karen Spears-Novachek, Tom Neimes, Carl Broberg, Mary McGrath,

Jennifer Maziasz, Laura Tulowitzky, Dave Anderson

Present, remote: none

Municipal Personnel:

Present, in-person: Mayor Mary D. Motiff, City Administrator Scott J. Kluver,

Asst. City Administrator Tony Janisch

Present, remote: none

Absent: none

Call to Order - Meeting called to order at 5:31pm by Mayor Motiff. Roll call attendance depicted five (5) of seven (7) members of the Common Council in attendance. Quorum of the Council recognized. Tulowitzky and Anderson arriving after roll call.

Mayoral Announcements and Proclamations – The Mayor's only announcement was the notification of the opportunity to attend the On-Line Local Government 101 Workshop sponsored by the League of Wisconsin Municipalities.

Election of Council President – Neimes nominated Karen Novachek for Council President, no other nominations were received. <u>The motion was made by Neimes to close nominations and elect Novachek to Council President, second by Broberg. Motion carried unanimously.</u>

Election of Plan Commission Member (2/3 Vote Required) – McGrath nominated Dave Anderson to the Plan Commission. <u>Moved by Neimes to close nominations and elect Anderson to Plan Commission, second by Tulowitzky. Motion carried unanimously.</u>

Confirmation of Council Member Appointments to Boards, Commissions, Committees - Mayor is asking for the following City Council appointments: Mary McGrath to Washburn-Bayview Room Tax Commission, Laura Tulowitzky to Library Board, Carl Broberg to Harbor Commission, Jennifer Maziasz to Parks Committee, Personnel/Finance Mary McGrath, Laura Tulowitzky, and Karen Spears-Novachek. Moved by Novachek to confirm the Mayoral appointments of Council members to the various boards, commissions, and committees, second by McGrath. Motion carried unanimously.

Confirmation of Citizen Appointments to Boards, Commissions, Committees - The Mayor nominated the following Citizens for appointments: Rodger Reiswig to Harbor Commission, Leo Ketchum-Fish & Matt Simoneau to Plan Commission, Scott Griffiths & Michael Wright to Zoning Board of Appeals, Jeremy Oswald to Parks Committee and Elisa Brown to Library Board. A motion was made by Novachek to approve all citizen appointments, second by McGrath. Motion carried unanimously.

Appointment of Weed Commissioner – The Mayor requested that Gerry Schuette be appointed as Weed Commissioner. <u>Moved by Novachek to appoint Director of Public Works Gerry Schuette as the Weed Commissioner</u>, second by Maziasz. Motion carried unanimously.

Designation of Public Depository (s) – A motion was made by McGrath to approve all listed below as the public depository(s), second by Neimes. Motion carried unanimously.

- Bremer Bank
- o Chippewa Valley Bank
- Northern State Bank

Designation of Official Newspaper- <u>A motion was made by McGrath to designate the Ashland Daily Press</u> as the official paper, second by Neimes. Motion carried unanimously.

Discussion of Orientation and Other Training for Council Members – City Administrator Kluver stated that typically an orientation and training is offered and scheduled for new council members, but since there are none, a refresher can be scheduled if anyone is interested. McGrath asked about the Open Book Training. Kluver answered that this is scheduled for May 11th, 5:30pm at City Hall. It will be about an hour-long video.

Adjourn – Mayor Motiff adjourned the meeting at 5:42 pm.

Tony Janisch Assistant City Administrator